1. Showing Loving-kindness to Everyone


    Loving-kindness means showing kindness to others so that they will be well and happy. Another word for loving-kindness is Metta.

    We show loving-kindness to others by wishing them to be well and happy. One way to show loving-kindness is to help other people so that they will be able to do things by themselves.

    We wish ourselves to be well and happy so that we can do good and help others – and because we all want to be happy.

    We should try to make our parents and teachers well and happy because they teach us so many interesting things that we do not know about.

    We should try to make animals well and happy. Animals are just like human beings because they also suffer pain and sadness.

    Before going to bed, we should generate loving-kindness for all beings. If we always do this, we will be happy and peaceful.

    Source: Buddhanet

  2. Whatever living beings there may be…


    Whatever living beings there may be — feeble or strong, long, stout, or of medium size, short, small, large, those seen or those unseen, those dwelling far or near, those who are born as well as those yet to be born — may all beings have happy minds. —The Buddha, Karaniya Metta Sutta

  3. Loving-kindness: if we take to its ultimate


    The Buddhist attitude is one of loving-kindness (metta), of open acceptance of everything as it is. If we take loving-kindness to its ultimate, all conditioned phenomena are accepted for what they are. That doesn’t mean all things are approved of; they are simply accepted. Everything has to be the way it is in the moment. You can’t say, ‘I don’t want the weather to be like this,’ or, ‘I don’t want things to be this way.’ If you do, you are not accepting the way it is and are creating suffering around something that you don’t like or don’t want.

    You can also have loving-kindness for your dislike of the way it is, so you are not even criticising yourself for being critical. Feeling despair and self-aversion for being critical or selfish is another trap of the mind. Even if you are sitting here hating yourself, thinking of yourself as selfish and critical and not a very nice person, you can have metta for that; you can have loving-kindness for the critical mind. Patient acceptance is nonaversion to everything that is happening now.

    ~Ajahn Sumedho

    Pink Arid Blossom. Photo credit: Randy Neufeldt

    Pink Arid Blossom. Photo credit: Randy Neufeldt


  4. Loving-Kindness


    Radiate your loving-kindness to every living being without any discrimination.
    The conqueror begets enmity; the defeated lie down in distress.
    The peaceful rest in happiness, giving up both victory and defeat.

    ~Sayings of the Buddha, Ven. Dr. K. Sri Dhammananda

    Jendhamuni on May 15, 2015

  5. Introduction to loving kindness meditation


    The Metta Bhavana is a meditation for developing lovingkindness.

    “Bhavana” means “cultivation” or “development,” and “Metta” is a word that means “love,” “friendliness,” or “lovingkindness.” So this is a meditation practice where we actively cultivate some very positive emotional states towards others, as well as to ourselves.

    This meditation practice helps us to bring more harmony into our relationships with others, so that we experience less conflicts, resolve existing difficulties, and deepen our connections with people we already get on with.

    This meditation helps us to overcome anger, resentment, and hurt.

    It helps us to empathize more, and to be more considerate, kind, and forgiving. We can also learn to appreciate others more, concentrating more on their positive qualities and less on their faults. We learn to be more patient.

    In this meditation practice, we also cultivate Metta towards ourselves, so that we experience less internal conflict, and learn to appreciate ourselves more.

    Source: http://www.wildmind.org

Live & Die for Buddhism


Maha Ghosananda

Maha Ghosananda

Supreme Patriarch of Cambodian Buddhism (5/23/1913 - 3/12/07). Forever in my heart...

Problems we face today

jendhamuni pink scarfnature

Of the many problems we face today, some are natural calamities and must be accepted and faced with equanimity. Others, however, are of our own making, created by misunderstanding, and can be corrected...

Major Differences

Major Differences in Buddhism

Major Differences in Buddhism: There is no almighty God in Buddhism. There is no one to hand out rewards or punishments on a supposedly Judgement Day ...read more

My Reflection

My Reflection

This site is a tribute to Buddhism. Buddhism has given me a tremendous inspiration to be who and where I am today. Although I came to America at a very young age, however, I never once forget who I am and where I came from. One thing I know for sure is I was born as a Buddhist, live as a Buddhist and will leave this earth as a Buddhist. I do not believe in superstition. I only believe in karma.

A Handful of Leaves

A Handful of Leaves

Tipitaka: The pali canon (Readings in Theravada Buddhism). A vast body of literature in English translation the texts add up to several thousand printed pages. Most -- but not all -- of the Canon has already been published in English over the years. Although only a small fraction of these texts are available here at Access to Insight, this collection can nonetheless be a very good place to start.

Just the way it is

1. Accept everything just the way it is.
2. Do not seek pleasure for its own sake.
3. Do not, under any circumstances, depend on a partial feeling.
4. Think lightly of yourself and deeply of the world.
5. Be detached from desire your whole life long.
6. Do not regret what you have done.
7. Never be jealous.
8. Never let yourself be saddened by a separation.
9. Resentment and complaint are appropriate neither for oneself nor... read more